OT: Catching up with the Liebster

For a while now the Liebster blog award has been swirling around my favourite blogs. I wonder who started all that nonsense 😀 I confess I quite like quizzes, both reading what others disclose about themselves, and answering for myself. Thus I am delighted to have been nominated by Preoccupiedwitharmitage and another kind blogging friend – [edit: Zeesmuse who is unforgettable]. I have been pretty much occupied with my mum’s visit and my mind has been elsewhere these last two weeks – I am sorry!  But better late than never, and thank you both for the nomination! I am delighted to answer the questions by Preoccupied.

1. How or why did you choose the name of your blog?

I chose “Guylty Pleasure” when I established my first RAblog over on tumblr nearly two years ago. I wanted a reference to Guy of Gisborne in the blog title, which is why it is spelled “Guy-lty” over there. However, that means that some readers pronounce it like Gisborne’s name – which always makes me laugh because the pronunciation then sounds like the German word for “horny” (geil). Believe me – that was unintended *ggg*

2. What is your specialty dish – that you’d cook for company, or take to a potluck?

Sweet potato curry with fresh spinach leaves

3. If you were at a karaoke party with Richard Armitage, and Richard owed you a song of your choice, what would you have him sing?

I’d go for a duet – “You’re the one that I want”, from Grease. It always has me in stitches, it is just the funniest karaoke duet *ever* with much room for stage antics. Plus, I want to hear Armitage sing at me “I got chills, they’re multiplyin’. And I’m losin’ control. ‘Cause the power you’re supplyin’, it’s electrifyin’!” so I can rebut him with “You better shape up!” Ha!

4. If you had the opportunity to interview Richard Armitage, what question(s) would you pose?

“So, Richard, tell me, what do you *really* think about all that fan malarkey?”

5. Aside from any Richarding pursuits, what is your guilty pleasure?

I love reading interior design magazines.

6. Do you have a hobby, craft or artistic outlet, or one that you’ve always wanted to learn but don’t have the time for?

No. Because if I really wanted to, I *could* make the time. But then there are the crafts and arts that I would like to do and have no talent for, such as painting.

7. Are you an “animal person”? If so, tell me a little about your favorite pet, past or present. 3444687764_fd4c76ea7d_z

I don’t really think that I am an animal person. We have two cats, though. In truth, however, I would much rather like to have a dog…

8. Who is the funniest person you know?

In RL? A friend of my hubster’s, called “Goz”. In entertainment: Irish Comedian Dara O’Briain.

9. What works of fiction would you recommend a friend?

A lot of my favourites are German, but well: There is “The Boat”, an intense anti-war novel set on a U boat and based on RL events by Lothar Günther Buchheim which was made into a film by Wolfgang Petersen in the early 1980s. I also love the novels by Siegfried Lenz, particularly “The German Lesson”. When it comes to English lit, I am a huge fan of David Lodge – his campus novels are endlessly entertaining. My favourite English classic is Austen’s “Persuasion”.

10. If Richard Armitage was to be cast in a remake of a classic or popular film or series, what role would you choose for him, and why?

I’ve been saying this for ages: I’d love to see RA play the father in a modern remake of Vittoria de Sica’s 1948 classic “Bicycle Thieves”. If you haven’t seen it – here it is:

11. I know Richard has said he would never do a reality TV show, but if he was to change his mind and appear (as himself), which one would amuse or delight you the most? If the thought of Richard in a reality TV show horrifies you, which one would horrify you the most?

Not a real fan of reality TV along the lines of “I’m a celebrity get me out of here”, “Big Brother” or even “Dancing on Ice”, but there are some formats that are tolerable, even enjoyable. My choice would be “Who do you think you are?” because I love history, I believe RA is interested in history, too, and he even seems to be particularly aware of his own family history in the North of England. WDYTYA does a great job at putting history in context, showing the reality of life in ages past, and it is really nice to follow a celebrity (or anyone, for that matter) down the road into their own family’s history. “Bilbo” has already done it, and this was actually one of the many episodes of WDYTYA that have stayed in my memory, mostly because for a change I quite liked Martin Freeman as he appeared there…

(If you haven’t seen them yet, check the episodes with Stephen Fry – who never fails to be extraordinarily interesting, thought-provoking, impressive and funny – and my all-time favourite with Jeremy Irons, who I totally loved for his dear wish to find a connection to Ireland… don’t we all… )

Right, that’s it. Oh, and I am back in business, btw. My mum has just left. We may have both been mutually relieved… My year is starting NOW. And message to all those lovely people who sent me e-mails during the last three weeks: I am planning to catch-up with them now and finally reply. Sorry you had no word from me!

47 thoughts on “OT: Catching up with the Liebster

    • Ah, that’s the other dance show… Nah, I’m afraid it doesn’t quite move me (although I was just looking at that Grease video and when Travolta does the snake hips near the end, I nearly fainted imagining RA doing the same…).

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Sweet potato curry with spinach leaves sounds pretty freaking fantastic! Thanks for taking the time to answer, Guylty (snickering… *I* think it’s rather fitting if horny implications are drawn from a reference to Gisborne- he certainly makes me hot and bothered often enough). =)

    Like

  2. Loved hearing more about you Guylty! I think the play on your name is fantastic 😀

    I’m going to mark this as unread so I can come back and watch the shows you’ve posted. I think I would faint if RA sang that song to me lol.

    Like

    • Hehe, Tree, you don’t know what you are saying. I could easily switch to self-center mode *ggg*. I am an only child, you know 😉
      Hope you get the time to look at those videos. The movie is absolutely stunning, visually and story-wise. It may be set in the 1940s, but it’s about the great challenges of life as a man, a member of society and a father.
      As for RA singing the song at me – nah, I would probably pee my pants with laughter 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. greatt!!! loove that curry… had a fabulous one last night at a vegetarian Indian in CG, we must try next time you’re here 🙂
    and loove the songs choice, i kept thinking what i would choose when the question came up and had total lack of ideas as was looking i guess for something slow, but this would be so much more fun and i want all the shimmying that goes with it 🙂
    Thanks for the film link, haven’t watched it in aaages! I love WDYTYA, about the only reality TV i like, hadn’t seen MF, must watch 🙂 Loved the Fry one 🙂

    Like

  4. Your specialty sounds great. Watched and enjoyed the MF video. I am glad you and your mom survived her visit. Loved learning more about you. I think RA would make a great Capt. Wentworth. And thank you zee muse for the interview. I feel like I wrote this comment like checking off a list for the grocery store. I think I am feeling guilty about not going there for a week. I have become marketing adverse in my dotage.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh RA would make a wonderful Capt Wentworth – he’s got that typical Irish look about him that Austen mentions in “Persuasion”. (And yes, that is dark hair and blue eyes – NOT ginger and freckles!)
      Grocery shopping? I have decided to turn that into my daily exercise routine and power-walk to a supermarket that is a mile away by foot 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I know it’s been said before but I’d still like to see RA play Rochester. I love “Who do you think you are” it’s a favourite show of mine and the only “reality” TV I watch, actually I didn’t think of it as reality TV until you mentioned it……anyway I’ve often thought of RA doing an episode, I’d love to see that. The “Grease” reference made me laugh, it was another favourite of mine when I was young, a bunch of school friends and I used to go to another friends house and watch it on her new video machine, we thought we were so cool! haha! and I still like the songs. Thanks for an entertaining interview Guylty xx.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe, *any* period piece will do 😀
      Yeah, WDYTYA doesn’t really feal like reality TV. To its credit!!!
      I came across Grease only very late – it was a cult classic in my husband’s circle of friends, and they used to take the mickey out of it. But it really is such OTT fun. I should introduce my kids to it, actually.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Soooooo, Mama Guylty abgereist, Nachwuchs-Guyltys vermutlich wieder im Schuldalltag … (LOL!!! Den Tippfehler lasse ich stehen!)

    Ich schließe daraus: Du brauchst *dringendst* Leute, die dich ordentlich nerven! *freudig Pfötchen reib* 😀

    Ach ja: Interessante Antworten. 🙂
    Wobei du hoffentlich nie RA interviewen darfst – ich weiß nicht, ob ich das wirklich wissen möchte. *gg*

    Like

    • Du hast es voll erfasst, Hedgy, ich bin heute allerbester Laune. Hab mir meine Gute-Laune-Mucke von gestern heute morgen im iTunes Store gegönnt und bin dann schnurstracks mal anderthalb Stunden mit Dauer-Loop “Rather Be” im Takt marschiert, fettes Lächeln im Gesicht. Beginne heute meine Neujahrsvorsätze umzusetzen – und obwohl das mit Verzicht verbunden ist, hat mir das erstaunlicherweise total die Stimmung gehoben. Es geht nichts über ein bisschen gepflegten Aktionismus.
      Was die Interviewfrage an RA angeht – doch, ich würde das ungerührt ansprechen, und darauf dringen, dass das mal ehrlich beantwortet wird. Ist ja nicht zwingend so, dass ich eine negative Antwort dann spielverderberisch ans Fandom weitergeben würde. Ich würde nicht mal selber Konsequenzen draus ziehen – denn ich möchte als Fan *niemals* RA interviewen und könnte dementsprechend als Guylty weiterhin Unwissenheit heucheln *pfeif*

      Like

      • *gg* Mich würde es ja selber interessieren, und ich würde es selbst fragen, wenn ich die Gelegenheit hätte, den Herrn mal zufällig (als nicht-offensichtlicher Fan, eben) irgendwo zu sprechen. 😛

        Wobei ich denke, dass die wahrscheinlichste “wirklich ehrliche” Antwort eh ungefähr so lautete:

        Vom Großteil habe ich sowieso keine Ahnung, und vom Rest kann ich höchstens die Hälfte nachvollziehen und verstehe nicht wirklich, was das bringen soll, aber solange es niemandem schadet, sondern noch Unterstützungen für gute Sachen bringt, kann doch niemand was dagegen haben.

        Zwischendrin atmen nicht vergessen, Richard. 😀

        Halt die gute Laune ordentlich fest – noch besser, sag Bescheid, wenn sie dir jemand wegnehmen will. Wir gucken denjenigen gemeinsam ganz böse an, bis er wegläuft. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ich glaube, du hast das ganz gut zusammengefasst, was der diplomatische Richie dazu sagen würde :-D. Dann machen wir also weiter wie bisher *ggg*.
          Und wenn mich hier einer anpupsen will, dann verweise ich direkt weiter an meine Korrespondenten. Ha.
          So, und nun geh ich ans Fettumwandeln. 2015 Herausforderung angenommen (inklusive Diätsuppenkochen *schauder* – wo ich doch nicht gerne koche und Suppen hasse!)

          Like

          • Tja, wenn der Kerl auch soooo diplomatisch ist – selber schuld! *fg*

            Wenn du mit einer Methode abnehmen willst, die dir so gar nicht liegt, wird’s verdammt schwer, das durchzuhalten. Keine gute Idee … Aber ich drück dir die Däumchen, dass es klappt. 🙂

            Ich habe von einigen Leute erfahren, dass sie gute Erfahrungen damit gemacht haben, abends auf Kohlenhydrate zu verzichten. Also Abendessen z.B. Hähnchenbrust und Salat, aber kein Brot oder Kartoffeln dazu. (Den ganzen Tag kohlenhydratarm sollte man aber nicht – bzw. vorsichtshalber nur unter ärztlicher Aufsicht – essen; sinnvoll ist aber, auf Vollkornprodukte umzustellen.)

            Like

            • Hab das Süppchen gekocht – sieht eigentlich ganz lecker aus. Noch nicht probiert. Muss erst noch was arbeiten 😀 Und ja, das mit den Kohlenhydraten abends ist mein Schwachpunkt. Überhaupt denke ich, dass man eine Diät grundsätzlich mit Bewegung unterstützen muss, nur der Essensverzicht bringt es nicht. Aber bei mir ist schon die halbe Miete gewonnen, wenn ich aufhöre, zwischendurch zu naschen. Ich mach die Suppengeschichte – kohlehydratarm – nur als Anschub drei Tage lang. Dann geht’s weiter mit WW.

              Like

              • Radikal Süßkram und Knabberzeug verbannen! – Was nicht da ist, kannst du auch nicht vernaschen. Wie Ri… Äh, nee, das wäre ja Sport, und überhaupt, das gehört hier sowieso nicht hin. *hust*

                Hmpf. Eine Diät mit Sport zu verbinden, ist natürlich sinnvoll. Aber nur dann, wenn es nicht auf “Ich darf jetzt zwei Riegel Schokolade esse, ich habe ja Sport gemacht!” rausläuft.

                Warum nicht gleich WW?

                Like

                • Bei WW braucht es eine ganze Woche, um erste Resultate zu sehen. Rein mental brauche ich aber schon ein Erfolgserlebnis am dritten Tag, um dranzubleiben 😀
                  Das mit dem Süßzeug und Knabberkram wäre einfacher, wenn ich keine Familie hätte. Hier ist *nie* keksfreie Zone 😦

                  Like

              • Stimmt so nicht mit dem “bei WW braucht’s ‘ne Woche, bis man was sieht”. *Jeder* Ernährungsratgeber wird dir sagen, dass man sich nur einmal pro Woche wiegen sollte**. Es gibt einfach zu viele Einflüsse, die beim Gewicht mitspielen, von Gewürzen (Salz bindet z.B. Wasser im Körper) bis zu Hormonen. (Denk nur mal an PMS und Wassereinlagerungen …)

                Fakt ist: Um ein Kilo zu verlieren, muss eine gesunde Person ca. 9000 Kalorien einsparen bzw. mehr verbrauchen. Das geht nicht von heute auf morgen, egal, welche Super-Geheimtipps du kriegst.

                Erwarte halt keine Wunder. Du hast dir die Pölsterchen ja auch nicht in drei Tagen angefuttert. Achte drauf, dass du nicht unter deinen Grundbedarf kommst und damit in den Hungersnot-Stoffwechsel rutschst, versuch ein Gefühl dafür zu kriegen, ob du Hunger oder Gelüste hast, und wenn dich ein Heißhungeranfall überfällt – putz dir die Zähne. Kein Scherz, das hilft, und nicht nur wegen dem Geschmack.

                Oh, äh, noch was … CHAKKA!!!!! Du schaffst das!!!!! 🙂

                ** Ich würde sogar sagen, verlass dich auf den Sitz des Hosenbunds und pfeif auf die Waage. Die Waage zeigt nur eine Zahl. Was willst du – Mathe oder Wohlfühlen? 😉

                Like

                • Stimme komplett bei allem zu. Will sagen: Das ist nicht die erste Diät, die ich mache :-D. Habe mit WW vor mittlerweile sechs Jahren innerhalb von neun Monaten 26,5kg abgenommen. Die wahre Herausforderung kommt ohnehin erst beim Erreichen des Zielgewichts – nämlich selbiges auch langfristig zu halten. Das war mir bis Weihnachten 2014 auch + – gelungen… aber nun habe ich keine Zeit für langsames Abnehmen. Der angesprochene Hosenbund kneift und ich fühle mich seit Wochen nicht wohl. Gestern habe ich mich zum ersten Mal etwas besser gefühlt – nicht weil sich nach drei Stunden Suppendiät schon Ergebnisse zeigen, sondern weil ich endlich dem Speck Paroli biete. Denn Abnahme beginnt im Kopf.

                  Like

              • Sorry, falls es so ankam – ich wollte eigentlich nicht den Oberschlaumeier geben. Außerdem bin ich eh überzeugt, dass du erreichst, was du willst, und der Kopf ist ja schon richtig dabei. 🙂

                Und falls du doch einen aufmunternden Tritt in …, äh, also, ein aufmunterndes Wort brauchst, kannst du dich vertrauensvoll an usn wenden. Wir helfen gern. Sogar mit Anlauf. 😉

                Like

  7. This was a fun read! Great questions and answers, and it was lovely learning a little more about you. I have always loved Grease, and your karaoke choice would be fabulous with RA and his “Latin snake-hips.” 🙂

    Like

  8. Nice to “know you” bit better , Guylty 😀 Tkanks Girls!
    Austen, De Sica , O’Briain…they all sounds good , just don’t tell me about “U-bout”;) my hubby tortures me with Petersen’s film at least once a month and rereads the book frequently
    PS: WDYTYA must be one of my fav. BBC productions ( hurray for the You Tube!)
    It sems that wonderful Jeremy has lovely life and deservetly so…all that horses, dogs, castles 😉

    Like

    • 😀 Your hubs has good taste – although that is kind of tricky to say about an anti-war film. The book is better 😉 But anyway…
      And yes, I love WDYTYA is great. Jeremy Irons was just wonderful in that episode. I always thought he seemed a bit aloof, or haughty, or arrogant even, but he was just so down-to-earth in this. And I *loved* that he ignored all laws and smoked everywhere 😀 Excentricity has its advantages…

      Like

  9. Yes, a remake of “The Bicycle Thief” with Richard as the father, perhaps taking place in a northern English town in the 1890s maybe? I love the Italian neorealism films.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

