Following in the Footsteps

IMG_5633Previous to travelling, the thought occurred to me, that I might occasionally be reminded of a certain Brit actor while touring NZ. And yes, I had even factored in that I wanted to visit a couple of Hobbit set locations etc, but boy oh boy, I am reminded of Armitage more than I had anticipated. There was that cinema in Devonport (Auckland) where the Crucible was advertised. Another screening of the Crucible is set for Taupo, where I winked at Proctor in the cinema’s window this morning.
Tonight I am writing to you from the Chateau Hotel in Whakapapa Village on the slopes of Mt Ruapehu – a splendid old-style hotel which is quiet an alien starship in this stark, rough landscape. Some of the area was filmed for both The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, and the cute little map provided by the hotel informs me that cast and crew apparently stayed in the Chateau. I doubt my regular double bedroom was used by Mr Armitage, but well, he has left his mark here, too:

IMG_5631
OIMG_5637k, I jest – that’s the closest I have come to him here in Whakapapa, but well, it certainly was enough to make me chuckle. I am raising my glass of Pinot Noir to him right now. I have treated myself to a glass of Devils Staircase, New Zealand Pinot Noir, and the rich, soft, fruity grape is a beautiful antidote to the view of the deserted landscape from my table in the lounge right now… Thorin approves.
Tomorrow we are finally getting to do a little hike to the Taranaki Falls – and then we’ll move on further down South. The wild is calling…
Kia Ora from NZ,
Guylty ❤

22 thoughts on “Following in the Footsteps

    • Hiken unbeschadet überstanden. Muss mal ein paar Bildchen raushauen, damit ihr seht, wo ich jetzt bin. Es ist nur gut hier – bis auf die Tatsache, dass mir ein gefräßiger NZ Bankomat meine Karte eingezogen hat und ich nun gerade komplett mittellos bin. Ich erwarte minütlich einen Anruf von meiner Bank, die mein Konto eingefroren hat. Alles Scheiße, deine Ellie…

      Like

      • Tja, wahrscheinlich haben deine Lieben zu Hause die Chance deiner Abwesenheit genutzt und mal schön das Konto inkl. Dispo geräumt und machen sich ein schönes Leben……..
        Was für ein Dreck, so fern der Heimat. Ich drück dir die Daumen.

        Like

        • 😀 Na, das wär ein Schpass… Nee, ich hab das mit meiner Bank gecheckt. An meinem Konto war alles ok. Der Scheiß-Automat hat mich reingeritten. Voll blöd – denn so’ne Karte ist ja unwiderruflich weg, wenn ein Automat sie einbehält… Nun bin ich hier mit Ferngesprächen am rumeiern, um eine Alternative zu organisieren… Tolle Ferien, das sach ich dir…

          Like

          • Ah, klar, das gute Stück wird zwar nicht geschreddert sondern idealerweise an die kontoführende Bank geschickt. In deinem Fall auch keine wirkliche Alternative. Mist!

            Like

            • Yup. Karte ist bereits blockiert – ich habe heute morgen stundenlang mit Visa telefoniert… Dummerweise haben sie mir gleichzeitig auch mein Konto blockiert. Das ist dumm, da ich so kein Online-Banking machen kann, was ich nun aber brauche, um an die Penunzen zu kommen… Mal sehen. Notfalls muss ich wohl doch Kiwi-Pflücken gehen 😉

              Like

              • Weia, ich sehe dich schon eine mobile Fotobude aufmachen. Nachher bist du so erfolgreich, dass du dort bleibst und deine Familie nachholst. Also ich buche dann gerne für Mai auf NZ um
                🙂
                Siehst du eigentlich Bilder per Mail? Oder bist du nur auf iPhone unterwegs? Hast garnix zur Tasse gesagt 😉

                Like

    • LOL – good point, Linnet… I really wanted more Pinot Noir, but actually wine is *really* expensive here… The Devils Staircase was 12.50 NZD a glass (about € 8, which is probably around $10 ?). Funny, if you think that it is grown and made here in NZ…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I have the same complaint about Ohio wine. Believe it or not, some of it is excellent, but the good local stuff is too expensive for me to drink very often. Hope you will get to Marlborough where they make my favorite wine 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • He is, isn’t he? I feel a little bit like RA himself when it comes to the king – I don’t like to make him look small, so I always photograph him from below, which makes him look big 🙂

      Like

  1. LOL… the men in the cast obviously didn’t clean up after them very well 😉 I’d need a glass of Pinot if i had to use that too :-p Devil’s Staircase.. what a brilliant name! bet after a few glasses of that any staircase is the devil’s! 😀
    Enjoy the view from the top (and take pics!!! 😉 )
    Had to smile, Kia ora always makes me think of Manu Bennett, in a sweet way 🙂 And rugby, which i miss, you should really do something rugby related while in NZ, watch a match or so 🙂

    Like

  2. Glad you are enjoying the lush landscaping around the hotel. Kidding. You could go into the ski lodge (grand word for it) in search of other signs of Mr. A’s passing through.

    Like

  3. Danke für Deine Berichte 3> Das weckt so alte Erinnerungen. Wir waren vor 12 Jahren auf Hochzeitsreise in NZ (genauer gesagt, wir haben in der Nähe von Queenstown geheiratet). Auckland, Davenport, Chateau Hotel, Mt. Taranaki… ich sehe alles wieder vor mir. Ich glaube Du machst die gleiche Tour wie wir damals 😉
    Ich wünsche Dir noch ganz viel Spass auf Deiner Reise und dass Du es in vollen Zügen genießen kannst … Neuseeland bleibt für immer im Herzen 🙂

    Like

Let me know what you think!

