The Twelve Days of Christmas – Day 2 [Raffle]

12dx-1

We are off to a good start. Thank you for all your comments on the Day 1 post – I am happy to announce the winner now: The New York photo book will go to Violet. Congratulations!!! Please confirm your address and the photo book will go on its way as soon as it arrives here. And thank you to all of you for taking part (and for many lovely comments – the reward I have shamelessly manipulated you into giving to me 😉 ) For the draw protocol click the “Seal of Approval” (right)

~*🎄*~

At this point, I would also like to extend my thank yous to two lovely fellow fans of ours who reached out and reacted to my announcement of The Twelve Days of Christmas: Unprompted and independent of each other, Hariclea and Perry have offered to support my Christmas fandom love project. Perry is contributing to postage costs, while Hariclea is going to sweeten some raffles with special additional presents that she will send to the respective winners herself. Thank you to both of you ❤️.

~*🎄*~

Now on to Day 2. I just realised that today’s item really ought to be raffled off right at the beginning of the run of my Twelve Days of Christmas – while there is still time. In monetary value, this gift means not much, and funnily enough it is a mass product of which there are millions and millions out there – but yet, I believe that they may be hard to come by for some fans, and thus…

~*🎄*~

Day 2 presents you 2 Royal Mail stamps to the value of £ 2.10

stamps

~*🎄*~

Thanks to a little interview on the Today Show on Monday, we know that Mr A is going to be in England for the holidays. Since his fan correspondence is still “a family affair”, this may mean that Richard will be looking through the backlog of autograph requests and fan mail, soon. A great opportunity to get your own letter and request in, if you ask me. According to reliable information via RAnet, you have better chances of receiving a signed photo back if you enclose

  • A large stamped addressed envelope (C4 size = 229mm x 324mm = 9 inches x 12.8 inches).
  • If you live in the UK a “Large” stamp is required.
  • For those outside the UK, please send the postage equivalent of £2 sterling.

Call me your enabler! (Thanks to Hariclea, btw, who procured the stamps for me a while back, not knowing what I was going to do with them.)

~*🎄*~

So, for a chance to win the stamps, leave a comment on this post. The raffle is open for the next 23 hours and finishes at 7am GMT tomorrow, December 15, 2016. 

~*🎄*~

chocolate-barTo sweeten the deal and fatten the package, Mr Thornton is sending a little chocolate love, too.

This raffle prize is ready to go, so as soon as the winner is picked and I have the winner’s address, the package will go on its way to her, anywhere in the world, postage and packing covered. 

~*🎄*~

A last word and shameless plugging on yesterday’s raffle prize – for those who are interested in purchasing the printed or pdf version of my photo book B/W New York, this link will direct you to my Blurb bookstore. To reiterate – I am pledging the proceeds of the book sale to Richard’s JustGiving charity Shelter. The discount code has been updated by Blurb – you receive 30% off by using the discount code CHEER30 at the checkout. Code valid until Dec 15, 2016. Blurb posts current discount codes above the menu bar of the bookstore page, so check there in case you decide to buy the book after Dec 15.

~*🎄*~

Recap and small print: Raffle for 2 Royal Mail stamps @ £1.05 each, open to all until 7am GMT Dec 15, 2016. The raffle item will be sent anywhere in the world, no P&P costs either. To enter the raffle, just a leave a comment below. Winner to be announced in Day 3 post of 12DX, tomorrow.

~*🎄*~

Love and best of luck to you all!


47 thoughts on “The Twelve Days of Christmas – Day 2 [Raffle]

  1. When I saw Richard say he would be home for the holidays, I had visions of ladies putting exotic socks and other gifts in envelopes and rushing to post offices everywhere. What a great idea to provide stamps. Do you know if one can request a particular photo (say Porter, for instance)? Of course I would be appropriately grateful for anything at all. Chances are I will not have to deal with this problem, since my winning the prize in question is a long shot.

    Like

    • Socks, Angel Delight and After Shave… His charities will be delighted 😉
      As for photo requests – no, if anything, I think they just send out his regular autograph picture (the headshot from 100 years ago?). But if you want a particular photo, you could simply print out the picture of your choice and enclose it in your letter, asking him to sign that. I received an autograph from him that way (even got a dedication on it with my name, spelled right), and he graciously complied with my similar request when I had those pictures signed for the last auction…
      And btw, if you need stamps but don’t win these, let me know – I’ll get some more when I go to London next.

      Like

  2. Cute this! 🙂 obvsly i am not entering! but love the idea 🙂 bet Mum is rubbing her her hands to sit him down and get some of the mountains of requests done 🙂 He’ll definitely deserve all his mince pies after that 🙂

    And can i just say i am sooo envious of that nephew of his and himself! Tickets to the Harry Potter play, Rich is the best uncle in the world! Those tickets are like gold dust and we here haven’t been able to get any 😦 Still hoping but i want the current cast so yes, i am pretty much all green with envy.

    Like

    • Hehe, thanks Hari – you are the enabler of the enabler in this! xx
      Oh yeah, he will have some work to do over Xmas. I bet there is a lot of post.
      I thought the same re. taking nephew to see the play. I had no idea it was so difficult to get tickets for that! But hey, he knows the right people, I am sure. And yes, lucky kid to have a nice, caring and well-connected uncle like that, who thinks up nice presents.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Say, what?! The first thought that came to mind when I read I have won the raffle was “Am I dreaming?” So, of course, I went and listened to the old song from Kat DeLuna whose title is that exact question, because I had to get up and dance! Thank you very much. I’ll DM you on Twitter.

    Like

  4. You ladies/girls/women are such fun, how can I resist given you all have such great taste in men? Would love the stamps. Thank you. Merry Christmas to all. There has been such a lot of Richard lately, I’m sure there will be withdrawals to deal with in the New Year, but hopefully spring wil be filled with Pilgrimage, Sleepwalker, PR about sn2 BS and a new Audible book?

    Like

    • Hehe, indeed. We are united in having great taste!
      And true – I suspect it will be a rather harsh come-down after the flurry of material we have been gifted with lately. Fingers crossed that all those projects you mention will see the light of day.

      Like

  5. Not entering this one, but a cool idea! And just a heads up… I did order the NYC photo book from yesterday as another little souvenir of NYC for myself =). The discount code doesn’t work for outsiders- when I entered it, a pop-up came along and said that it only applies to books uploaded through the person’s own account- so the discount would apply to you if you ordered your own book but not to others ordering your book. No big deal, but you might want to update your post.

    Like

    • Arrrrgh – really? Shoooooot! Ok, I better check what they have got for followers. Thanks for pointing that out to me Jenn. The 20% off coupon was for followers, but the new one came from the website direct – which probably recognised me as a registered user. I’ll change that now.

      Like

  6. What a great idea for the second day. Would love the chance to win this since I missed meeting him for the second time in NY when in NY to see the play!

    Like

      • Actually, worse. For “The Hobbit” fan event, security chased us out of the building after the event ended. For “Love Love Love”, Richard did come out but not for very long and when I was about 2 feet away, I got pushed back by an elbow in the ribs. Had to go back next day and hand the gift bag Rita, Kat

        Like

  7. I have tickets to see ‘Wicked’ in January for my daughters birthday not as exclusive as the Harry Potter play lol but my girls did go to the Studios in Watford last week they would recommend the HP tour if anyone is visiting the UK.
    I wonder what Richard will be allowed to do this Christmas, he has mentioned gravy and warming the cranberry sauce before!

    Like

  8. What a great prize! When I wrote to RA with my photo request last year I think I must have bought the last three International Reply Paid coupons in the country lol.The ladies behind the counter at the post office (the fourth one I tried) didn’t know what I was talking about. It was worth all the running around in the end. I got my Sarah Dunn b&w photo signed. 🙂

    Like

    • I think those IRP coupons must be long out of business. I remember asking about them a year into becoming a fan, and they didn’t sell them in Ireland. Lucky you that you snapped the last ones up!
      The stamp method definitely works, too. That’s how I got the pics signed for the auctions.

      Like

  9. I am saliving!, I love that chocolate ❤ And would really love to get my hands on the stamps, I am short on 1 to send him a request 😀

    p.s. congratulations, Violet! 😀

    Like

  10. Who could resist a little taste of Thornton’s? It’s lovely! The stamps would be too as I have just about given up on how to get any. Another sweet raffle, thank you! And Congrats to Violet for winning your beautiful book.

    Like

    • Ha, man hat ja so allerlei Kram herumliegen – oder auf Vorrat bestellt und gebastelt – und der muss ja unter die Leute gebracht werden… Day 3 ist auch schon raus 😉

      Like

  11. Ah me. This is what happens when you’re away from your computer all day and all evening. You miss a raffle. But someone sent me some Thornton’s chocolate last year….yum!
    I’ve always wondered how someone outside of the UK could get an autograph because I never knew how to get a British stamp for the return envelope.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

